Phantom Part Two

Last time I wrote I was only part way through Phantom of the Opera by Gaston Leroux. I now can say I have completed the novel, and have rewatched the film starring Emmy Rossum and Gerard Butler, as well as the musical version filmed at the Royal Albert Hall for Netflix. I’m happy that Andrew Lloyd Webber stuck to the novel in most aspects of the musical/film so my complaints were few in number.

However, the book has a completely different ending! I was starting to get a bit bored with the book until in the last hundred or so pages the book started to go through its end and it couldn’t have been more different. I get that Webber was going for a more romanticized version, which explains why the musical/film end the way they do so; to get more people interested in the story.

I’m happy I stuck through the book though, and I will be reading more classics in the future.

Next on my list to read is : A Feast for Crows, Book 4 in the A Song of Ice and Fire series by George R. R. Martin.
I’ve read the first three books, but took a break in reading while pursuing my Master’s degree. Now that I can devote the time to the books again I want to “finish” reading them. Hopefully finishing the fifth book before book 6 comes out, but who knows with the pace Martin writes at 😉

Leave a Reply

