Ok..so I haven’t read a ton in a while

This January I was taking a class at the University I work at. The reading for that class was very intense and I haven’t been reading “for fun” in a while. Now, however, I’ve finally picked up a book.. or two. In December I finished Up the Down Staircase for a book club I am in with my best friends. I’ll post about that once we have book club (Feb. 21) so that I still have stuff to say about it.

I’ve just started reading Dr. Sleep by Stephen King. With the snow days adding up in New Hampshire, I was able to get almost halfway through it yesterday. Dr. Sleep is the sequel to The Shining, which I finished reading last October. The Shining was MUCH different from the movie, and so far this sequel isn’t much of a sequel in that it sticks with the storyline in a relatively short time period. We see Danny, now Dan, as a 30-40 year old. And other than him and that the book goes into depth on the “shine” you won’t miss much if you never read, or watched, The Shining. As I haven’t finished the book yet I do not want to speculate too much, but so far it seems quite straight forward and the reader is able to see where the plot is going to go. Hopefully there are a few twists down the road!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

