Grounding Academic Librarianship and Elitism

hls

Less than four months into my MLIS, I have already become immersed in the library world within academia. Not only do I wish to be an academic librarian after I graduate, but being in a library program, working within an academic library, and doing service work in library-related activities has basically taken over my being. And I like it. For the past year, I have wanted libraries to be my life because I felt like I finally found my passion. But now that I am fully immersed in this deep dive, I also see the danger of academic elitism, an elitism which underpays adjunct professors and reflects neoliberal ideals. Will being an academic librarian make it difficult for me to effect change in the “real world” because I am so entrenched in academic lingo? Will lengthening my CV remove myself from applying the principles I promote? I often…

View original post 1,175 more words

Leave a Reply

